EMDR

EMDR® means Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing and is these days a psycho therapeutically recognized method, which has been scientifically examined several times for its effectiveness. EMDR is helpful and effective for patients with traumatic burdens. This method was founded by Dr. Francine Shapiro in the years 1987 to 1991, which succeeded to integrate and dissolve ever-recurring incriminating thoughts and emotions through EMDR. EMDR is often used to ease traumatic experiences. However, the field of application is not limited to traumatic experiences, because burdening thoughts can also be an obstacle in other life situations.

The most important principle of EMDR is the bilateral stimulation and synchronization of the two brain hemispheres, while the client follows with the eyes the hand movement of the therapist. Further bilateral stimulation can take place via acoustic or tactile impulses. Bilateral stimulation is comparable with the REM phase in deep sleep, which process experiences of the day by the movement of the eyes. This corresponds to neuronal new linking.

When stressful thoughts and negative feelings recur constantly like an endless loop to stressful situations or in everyday life, EMDR can change the previously blocked feelings and images into positive perceptions. This allows neural rewiring in the brain while an effective and stable processing takes place. The success rate of EMDR for the post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is approximately 90%. The majority of clients are still free of symptoms even years after treatment.

Praxis für systemische Therapie

EMDR

EMDR® bedeutet Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing und ist heute eine psychotherapeutisch anerkannte Methode, die wissenschaftlich mehrfach auf ihre Wirksamkeit untersucht worden ist. EMDR ist bei traumatischen Belastungen hilfreich und wirksam. Begründet wurde diese Methode von Dr. Francine Shapiro in den Jahren 1987 bis 1991, der es gelang, immer wiederkehrende belastende Gedanken und Gefühle durch EMDR zu integrieren und aufzulösen. Verwendung findet EMDR häufig bei traumatischen Erlebnissen. Das Anwendungsgebiet ist jedoch nicht darauf beschränkt, da belastende Gedanken auch in anderen Lebensbereichen hinderlich sein können.

Das wichtigste Wirkprinzip beim EMDR ist die bilaterale Stimulation und Synchronisation der beiden Gehirnhälften, indem der Klient mit den Augen einer Handbewegung des Therapeuten folgt. Weitere bilaterale Stimulation kann über akustische oder taktile Impulse erfolgen. Vergleichbar ist die bilaterale Stimulation mit der REM Phase im Tiefschlaf, die auch dazu dient, Erlebnisse des Tages über die Bewegung der Augen zu verarbeiten. Dies entspricht einer neuronalen Neuverknüpfung.

Wenn belastende Gedanken und negative Gefühle wie eine Endlosschleife immer wieder in Stresssituationen oder im Alltag wiederkehren, kann EMDR die zuvor blockierten Gefühle und Bilder zum Positiven verändern. Dadurch können sich neuronale Neuverknüpfungen im Gehirn bilden und eine wirksame und beständige Verarbeitung findet statt. Die Erfolgsrate von EMDR zum Beispiel beim posttraumatischen Belastungssyndrom (PTBS), liegt bei circa 90%. Der größte Teil der Klienten ist auch Jahre nach der Behandlung noch beschwerdefrei.

Praxis für systemische Therapie